Aviation Week Network's 20 Twenties is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC


Application Deadline: 
October 15, 2023

Event: March 14, 2024
Washington, DC

2022 Winners

Aviation Week Network has searched the globe for undergraduate or master’s degree students working to solve challenges within the aviation, aerospace and defense industries. A judging panel composed of hiring managers, engineers, and academics evaluated and scored nominees based on academic performance, civic contribution, personal challenges, and the value of each student’s research or design project.

Aviation Week Network has discovered 20 students who embody these traits and are on a course to change the future of aviation, aerospace and defense. Nominated by their universities, the honorees were selected from an international field of highly qualified students. The class of 2022 was top-ranked in academics, has articulated the value of their research and design projects, already dealt with personal struggles, and has an established record of giving back to their communities.

The 2022 recognition program had a 34% increase in applicants over the last, with 12 new schools participating, and five new countries represented, with an equal number of women to men with highly diverse cultural and demographic backgrounds. Everyone represented the future of aviation, aerospace and defense.

20 Twenties Class of 2022

Photo Credit:  Chris Zimmer Photography.

Jesudunsin Awodele, 
Georgia Institute of Technology

Terelle Cadd,
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Catherine Dominic,
University of Texas at Austin

Chloé Gentgen, 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Emily Herrmann,
Georgia Institute of Technology

Joshua Ingersoll,
The George Washington University

Tatiana Jaimes,
Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology

Margaret Kilpatrick,
Georgia Institute of Technology

Anoop Kiran,
University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

Perla Latorre-Suarez, 
University of Central Florida

Daniel Mayper,
Purdue University

Hailey Nichols,
The University of Texas at Austin

Luisa Piccolo Serafim,
Duke University

Grace Robertson,
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Alina Santander Vinokurova,
Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology

Morgan Mackenzie Serra,
University of Michigan

Caitlyn Singam,
University of Maryland, College Park

Julia Weiss,
University of Michigan

David Wolmark,
University of Southern California

Angie Zhang,
Purdue University